ADD Crusher Review: Ways 9 and 10!

English: receiving from Judge his certificate ...

English: receiving from Judge his certificate of American citizenship. Deutsch: erhält von Richter Phillip Forman seine Bescheinigung über die amerikanische Staatsbürgerschaft. Português: recebendo do juiz seu certificado de cidadão americano. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hey everyone!  Yes, still here and still alive :-)  I have a confession to make.  I said in my last post that I was going to do a video blog segment.  Well, I had some technical issues that made that difficult and delayed my post as well, but the biggest problem I ran into was…fear.  Yep, there it is.  I kept putting it off and putting it off because I never felt like I looked right for video or I didn’t have the right equipment, you get the idea.  However, if you read all the way to the bottom you will see my request for the Crusher himself to join me on video!  I’ve also had some personal things going on that actually fit in quite well with most of the ADD Crusher course including the last two segments, Ways 9 and 10.  Can you believe I finished the whole program?!  That MUST be scored as a success all by itself!

Nice segue, if I may say so myself, into Way 9: Scoring Your Successes.   Crusher says that we ADDers are really good at remembering and ruminating over every failure, real or perceived, and I think he is right.  It’s probably not only ADDers who are good at this, but if it was an Olympic sport I think we’d have good odds of making the team.  I am certainly an expert at beating myself up when I screw up, but I”ve actually been working on this in the past few months by (trying!) to do a weekly gratitude post I’ve entitled “Thankful Thursday.”  Focusing on what I’m grateful for has really helped me focus on the positive things in my life over all, including my successes.  And, as suggested in the action steps for Way 9, I am scoring myself on the template I downloaded from the ADD Crusher Toolkit so I can actually tally up my successes on paper.  I will report back on what categories I counted and how well I scored in a later post.

Perhaps the biggest take-away from Way 9 for me was Crusher’s challenge to turn failures into lessons.  As some of you know I’ve been underemployed for some time.  In July I finally got a job that I was pretty psyched about and one where I could continue my media consulting business on the side.  It lasted 6 long weeks.  The first few weeks were great and the last two were awful.  Needless to say I spent a few days feeling like an utter failure even though I knew the end-result wasn’t my fault (seriously…this time it truly wasn’t).  At any rate, I remembering saying that I needed to think about how everything went because I felt like there was something to be learned from the whole situation.  And then, voila!  I watched the Way 9 video and there’s Crusher talking about turning failures into lessons!  Nice timing!  And yes, I did learn some things from that whole situation and am stronger for having gone through it.

Way 10, Get a Lateral Mindset.  This section is all about embracing the fact that we ADDers think differently than non-ADDers.  It’s true – we are genetically wired differently and that’s ok!  Non-ADDers generally have a vertical or linear mindset and go about figuring things out in a way that is opposite of ADDers.  You know all that stuff about how you have to love yourself first…I’m not a huge one for the mushy stuff, but I am determined to embrace the fact that I think in a different way and therefore come up with new ideas in different ways.  It does NOT mean I am wrong, just different.  There are some pretty cool folks out there who are (or were) fellow lateral thinkers and I, for one, am quite proud to be in the same group with them: Einstein, Da Vinci, Monet, and oh yeah…Alan Brown :-)  Of course as Crusher says, ADD is neither an absolute gift nor an absolute negative, but it’s not until we embrace our unique way of thinking that we can unleash our full potential on the world!

Now that I have gone through all 10 Ways, I doubt it will be any big surprise that no, I will definitely not be requesting my money back!  This program has and no doubt will continue to have a huge impact on my life.  I highly recommend it!  I am going to post a summary of the second half of the program just as I did the first half, probably in the next day or so.

And finally!  I would like to ask the ADD Crusher himself if he would be willing to chat with me on video as a final recap and/or question answer session for my readers!  What do you think, Crusher?  Sounds like fun!   

The Mona Lisa.

One thought on “ADD Crusher Review: Ways 9 and 10!

  1. Hi Lisa! This was my favorite blog post of all the series. I thank you again for taking the “Crusher challenge”. This blog has ups and downs, ‘failures and successes’, and ultimately triumphs thanks to your awesome spirit. And YES, let’s do a screen chat together — will indeed be fun! -Crusher (Alan)

Leave a Reply

